About Us

About Weems

Established in 1970, Weems Community Mental Health Center has offices in each of the nine counties that make up Region Ten of the Mississippi Community Mental Health System.  Counties served by Weems include: Clarke, Jasper, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Scott and Smith.

Local Representation

Weems is governed by a nine-member Board of Commissioners.  Each of the nine counties we serve are represented on the Board by a Commissioner names by the county's Board of Supervisors.

Mississippi Department of Mental Health (DMH)

Weems is certified by the DMH and must follow procedures outlined in the DMH Operational Standards.  Additionally, Weems must have sufficient safeguards in place to assure that all program components operate in an ethical, moral, legal, and professional manner.


Weems mission is to provide a full range of professional, appropriate mental health services to all residents of Region Ten of the Mississippi Mental Health System and to educate the public about mental health issues and treatment, thereby enhancing the well-being of individuals and the overall health of this region.